AHBE LAB

Xeriscape garden; Creative Commons photo: Jeremy LevineXeriscape garden; Creative Commons photo: Jeremy Levine

Want to do the environmentally responsible thing and install a drought tolerant landscape? The first thing you could do is rip out your lawn and install trees, shrubs and ground cover. Generally, this act alone will save you about a third of your monthly water use. The caveat being is that you must not water your newly planted trees, shrubs, and groundcover the same amount as your newly removed lawn or you will not save any water at all.

However, you must give your new landscape some water to keep it alive and healthy. How much? Therein lies the rub. I don’t know. I have over 25 years experience as a landscape architect and I’m regarded as one of the many experts in exterior water conservation in California, yet I cannot guarantee the water usage of any landscape I design for you.

Why?…

View original post 549 more words

